America First: Day 1 of 1460

And so it begins.

President Donald Trump has made a lot of promises these past several months and people on both sides of the spectrum are anxiously waiting to see if he’s going to fulfill those promises, one of them being repealing the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) policy on his first day in office. DACA is an executive order put in place by Obama to give kids and teens a sort of makeshift legal status where they don’t have to worry about being deported, can get a driver’s license, and makes it easier to pursue higher education.

Trump’s first day as President has passed and DACA is still here, but I’m sure tensions are still high for the Dreamers who took advantage of the program. Questions remain on what happens to people who’s lives changed for the better in 2012.

Fader magazine interviewed a handful of the 750,000 dreamers on their thoughts and worries about DACA being taken away.

While many spoke of being able to get an education or go visit their families in their home country, one thing that stuck with me was much more basic than that.

In a sense, DACA gave me more of a sense of belonging. If my friends wanted to go out before, I would have to make up an excuse or say I don’t want to go, because what if they ask for an ID and I don’t have one? To avoid all that I would just not go out. DACA gave me a little bit more confidence to go out, a little more independence.

Obviously, going out drinking or to a concert isn’t as important as a college education, but it’s the little things that we really take for granted on a daily basis.

According to the Los Angeles Times, Obama said he would speak out if Trump were to mess with these newfound rights for these young immigrants.

“[Trump] can take DACA, he can take my driver’s license, my social security number, but he’s not going to take my education,” said Jose, 30, to Fader.

While I rather Trump not mess with DACA at all, at the very least I hope he doesn’t take away the sense of the security many of the dreamers now count on. But for now, we have to wait and see if Trump’s “America First” platform really just means immigrants out.

This entry was posted in Immigration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

